Delete a Job

It's possible to delete a job in ServiceCore, however, we don't always recommend it since you might lose important job-related data. Alternative options include re-scheduling a job or cancelling a job. Deleting a job cannot be undone, so please only delete jobs when you are comfortable losing the job-related information and details.

In this article, you'll learn the drawbacks of job deletion, and how to delete a job if you need to.

Drawbacks of Job Deletion

Before you delete a job, keep these drawbacks in mind:

  • Permanent data loss
    If you delete a job, you'll lose the job history, including any driver notes and job completion notes. You'll also lose any information about services performed and job duration. Deleting a job is permanent. Once you delete a job, it will no longer exist anywhere in ServiceCore and you will not be able to get back to the job at a later time.
  • Broken links
    If you delete a job, any links to and from that job on an invoice will no longer function properly, which can lead to unexpected behavior. You may end up with an invoice on file that has no job-related information, and no service line items, because the job the invoice was based on no longer exists.
  • Inaccurate inventory availability
    If you delete a rental job that uses inventory, you may experience invalid product availability errors. Your inventory availability is calculated automatically based on inventory items being associated with a job, especially delivery and pick-up jobs. When you delete a rental job, the inventory number can become inaccurate.
  • Customer and staff confusion
    If you send an invoice to a customer for a job that is deleted, there will be no way to reference that job later on. There can also be drawbacks for customer service, dispatch, and management staff if a job is deleted and these individuals need to reference the job at a later time.

Alternative options

There are a few alternatives to job deletion that keep your data and job-related information intact, including:

  • Reschedule a Job
  • Set the job completion status to Partial Service or Unable to Service
  • Cancel a job 

Delete a Job

Before You Start

  • After considering the alternative options above, if you decide to delete a job, first you will need to Find the job.

Once you find the job, follow the steps below depending on the current status of the job.

Open, Scheduled or In-Progress Jobs

To delete a job that is open, scheduled or currently in progress, here's how:

  1. On the job details page, click the down arrow to the right of Print Service Ticket
  2. Click Edit Job from the list of options that appear
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Delete this job
  4. In the popup that appears, click Confirm Delete

Cancelled Jobs

To delete a job that was cancelled, here's how:

  1. On the job details page, scroll to the bottom of the screen
  2. In the Next Steps section, click Reopen Job

  3. Scroll back to the top of the page, and click the down arrow to the right of Print Service Ticket
  4. Click Edit Job from the list of options that appear
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Delete this job
  6. In the popup that appears, click Confirm Delete

Completed Jobs

To delete a completed job, here's how:

  1. Look at the top of the page for the Completed job section
  2. Click Edit

  3. In the lightbox that appears, scroll down and click Reopen job in the bottom right
  4. Click the down arrow to the right of Print Service Ticket
  5. Click Edit Job from the list of options that appear
  6. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Delete this job
  7. In the popup that appears, click Confirm Delete

After you delete a job

After you delete a job, you may want to:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful