FAQs About Jobs

In this article you'll find answers to some Frequently Asked Questions we receive about jobs.

Frequently Asked Questions about Jobs

Quick Links

What is the difference between jobs and rentals?

When you are dropping off inventory in ServiceCore, you are going to want to create a rental. Upon clicking "Create a Rental" you are selecting to create a job that will have inventory dropped off at a customer's site. Via this process, you will be able to schedule the Delivery Job, Pick-Up Job, and Service Jobs all in one place. Rentals basically act as the one stop shop for creating jobs that have inventory.

When you hit "Create a Job" via the addition symbol next to your user name, you're essentially creating a standalone job. This job will not have inventory associated with it. In addition, in order to Create a Job and assign it a Job Type, you would have to create custom job types via the Custom Fields section of your Settings. Currently in ServiceCore the basic job types available to you are all Rental Types, which means they require inventory. If you want to have non-rental type jobs, you would have to create those via the Custom Fields section of your Settings.

Why doesn't the job completion time on service ticket PDFs match the job completion time on the web app?

The job completion time that appears on printed Service Ticket PDFs is displayed in UTC time. To determine what this translates to in your timezone, use this free online tool: World Time Buddy.

Is there a way that we can reset a job if it was started accidentally?

Right now, no, there is no way to reset a job if it was started accidentally. The reason is that this prevents technicians from restarting jobs which could allow manipulation (or faking) a shorter job completion time.

In order to recover from a job that was started accidentally, please do one of the following:

Complete the Job and Create a New Job

  1. Navigate to the job that was started accidentally
  2. Click on Actions
  3. Click on Complete job from the list of options that appear
    mceclip0.png
  4. Choose the Status that you want to use for this job, such as Complete, Partial Service or Unable to Service
  5. Fill out the rest of the form if you prefer
  6. Click Mark as Done

If this is a rental...

If this is a job that is part of rental, follow these steps:

  1. On the job details page, click on Actions
  2. Click on View
  3. Then click on View Rental
  4. Back on the rental details page, follow these steps: Add Jobs to a Rental

If this is not a rental job, follow these steps:

  1. On the job details page, scroll down and click on the customer number
  2. Click on the Jobs tab
  3. Click Create New Job
  4. Create a new job that is the same as the job that was started accidentally
  5. Once you're done filling out the Create new job form
  6. Click Save

Cancel the Job and Create a New Job

  1. Navigate to the job that was started accidentally
  2. Click on Actions
  3. Click on Scheduling from the list of options that appear
  4. Then click on Cancel job
    mceclip1.png
  5. Fill our the Reason canceled if you prefer
  6. Once you're finished, click Cancel Job

If this is a rental...

If this is a job that is part of rental, follow these steps:

  1. On the job details page, click on Actions
  2. Click on View
  3. Then click on View Rental
  4. Back on the rental details page, follow these steps: Add Jobs to a Rental

If this is not a rental job, follow these steps:

  1. On the job details page, scroll down and click on the customer number
  2. Click on the Jobs tab
  3. Click Create New Job
  4. Create a new job that is the same as the job that was started accidentally
  5. Once you're done filling out the Create new job form
  6. Click Save

Delete the Job and Create a New Job

Before you delete a job, please read this article: Delete a Job

  1. Navigate to the job that was started accidentally
  2. Click on Actions
  3. Click on Edit from the list of options that appear
  4. Then click on Delete
    mceclip2.png
  5. Click Confirm Delete

If this is a rental...

If this is a job that is part of rental, follow these steps:

  1. On the job details page, click on Actions
  2. Click on View
  3. Then click on View Rental
  4. Back on the rental details page, follow these steps: Add Jobs to a Rental

If this is not a rental job, follow these steps:

  1. After you delete the job
  2. Create a new job that is the same as the job that was started accidentally by following these steps: Create a Job

Is there a way that we can reset a job if we need to reroute a driver off a of a job they were already dispatched on?

If you need to reroute a job to another driver or technician, you can reschedule a job by following these steps: 

From the Schedule

  1. Navigate to the Schedule
  2. Locate the job you need to reroute to a different driver
  3. Hover over the job you want to reroute
  4. Click on the Calendar icon that appears
    mceclip3.png
  5. Change the Day of or Technician as needed
  6. Click Reschedule

From a Job Details Page

  1. Click on Actions
  2. Click on Scheduling from the list of options that appear
  3. Then click on Reschedule
    mceclip4.png
  4. Change the Day of or Technician as needed
  5. Click Reschedule

If the job being rerouted has already been started, you will need to follow the steps above for resetting a job that has already started.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful