It's possible to delete rentals in ServiceCore, however, we don't always recommend it since you might lose important rental-related information to reference in future. Deleting a rental cannot be undone, so please only delete rentals if you are comfortable losing the links between jobs, invoices, and inventory history information for a rental.
In this article, you'll learn the drawbacks of rental deletion, and how to delete a rental if you need to.
Drawbacks of Job Deletion
Before you delete a rental, keep these drawbacks in mind:
- Permanent data loss
If you delete a rental, you'll lose the rental details and inventory history of quantities and jobs that appears on the rental details page. Deleting a rental is permanent. Once you delete a rental, it will no longer exist anywhere in ServiceCore and you will not be able to get back to the rental at a later time.
- Broken links
If you delete a rental, any links to and from that rental on jobs and invoices will no longer function properly, which can lead to unexpected behavior. You may end up with an invoice on file that has no rental-related information, because the rental the invoice was based on no longer exists. You will also lose any rental rate information on recurring invoices that were linked to the deleted rental.
- Inaccurate inventory availability
If you delete a rental that still has inventory out of site, you may experience invalid product availability errors. Your inventory availability is calculated automatically based on inventory items being associated with delivery and pick-up jobs. When you delete a rental, the inventory number can become inaccurate.
- Customer and staff confusion
If you send an invoice to a customer for a rental that is deleted, there will be no way to reference that rental later on. There can also be drawbacks for customer service, dispatch, and management staff if a rental is deleted and these individuals need to reference the rental at a later time.
Delete a Rental
Before You Start
Here are a few things to keep in mind before you delete a rental:
- Only users with Owner, Admin or Manager level permission can delete rentals
- Rentals that have in-progress or completed jobs cannot be deleted
How to Delete a Rental
To delete a rental, follow these steps:
- Navigate to Rentals
- Locate the rental you want to delete be using the search, sort, and filter by options
- Click View for the rental
- Scroll to the bottom of the page
- Click Delete Rental
- Click Confirm Delete in the pop-up that appears
- You will see a message across the top of the page that says, "Rental successfully deleted."
After you Delete a Rental
After you delete a rental, you may want to: