It's possible to delete refunds in ServiceCore, however, we don't always recommend it since you might lose important refund-related information to reference in future. Deleting a refund cannot be undone, so please only delete refunds if you are comfortable losing the links between refunds, payments, and customers.
In this article, you'll learn the drawbacks of refund deletion, and how to delete a refund if you need to.
Drawbacks of Refund Deletion
Before you delete a refund, keep these drawbacks in mind:
- Permanent data loss
If you delete a refund, you'll lose the refund details and all related information. Deleting a refund is permanent. Once you delete a refund, it will no longer exist anywhere in ServiceCore and you will not be able to get back to the refund at a later time.
- Customer and staff confusion
If you send a receipt or PDF to a customer for a refund that is deleted, there will be no way to reference that refund later on. There can also be drawbacks for customer service, accounting and sales staff if a refund is deleted and these individuals need to reference the refund at a later time.
Delete a Refund
Before You Start
Here are a few things to keep in mind before you delete a refund:
- Only users with Owner or Admin level permission can delete refunds
- Refunds that are processed through CardConnect or Authorize.net cannot be deleted
How to Delete a Refund
To delete a refund, follow these steps:
- Navigate to Refunds
- Locate the refund you want to delete be using the search, sort, and filter by options
- Click View for the refund
- Scroll to the bottom of the page
- Click Delete Refund
- Click Delete Forever in the pop-up that appears
- You will see a message across the top of the page that says, "Refund successfully deleted."
After you Delete a Refund
After you delete a refund, you may want to: